Glyphs

screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-2-15-10-pm

I love looking through glyphs and ornaments in different fonts. The most well known glyphs are located in the typeface wingdings and zapf dingbats. The glyphs above are from a combination of both of those typefaces. I find them to be beautiful and I could see them being used on a business card, or altered slightly to create a custom logo.

Wingdings is owned by Microsoft and was largely created to create an image for hand gestures, zodiac signs, and ampersands. There are now more versions of wingdings, like wingdings2 and wingdings3. These offer more options with arrows and geometric shapes. Zapf Dingbats is similar to Wingdings but offers a larger variety of ornaments. The image below is by far my favorite ornament from the Zapf Dingbats collection.

Screen Shot 2016-12-12 at 2.30.10 PM.png

Author: KassidyKievit

I am a senior at SUNY Oneonta majoring in Computer Art. I hope to work for a creative agency in the future.

Leave a comment