Typographic Resources

One of the resources that I found to be personally very interesting and helpful for the future was the Professional Web Typography resource, from the Learning Resources section. In this resource it has a whole section on the history of Web Typrography, which I Screen Shot 2016-12-04 at 5.00.00 PM.pngfind to be very interesting especially since I want to go into web design. It talks about how the first type for the interest was greatest in bitmaps and the pixels as the letters were created on the screen. As show in the image to the left, you can see how the pixels on the screen would create the lower case g on the web. This resource guide has various different sections on how to select body text, choosing headings, animating type, and setting type the browser. I think that all of these aspects of web type is very important for anyone going into web design to understand. A lot of people don’t realize how much goes into deciding what font is shown on websites. The internet is used everyday by people all over the world. It is so important to use fonts that is easy for the viewer to read on the screen, as well as being printed out.

Another part of this resource that I found to be interesting was they showed how to link a different font from both typekit and google fonts in javascript. For me, this is something I have to pay close attention to because I will be using this in the future. I liked that they added this into the section because it allowed me to see how they add different kinds of fonts that wouldn’t necessarily be offered on Dreamweaver, however could still be accessed and added to website I could be working on in the future.

Screen Shot 2016-12-04 at 5.07.27 PM.png

Leave a Reply

