Table of Contents

I went to the library today to look for creative table of content pages in books. I did not find much success primarily because I did not know where to look for books that would have detail like the examples that I had seen online. The first image is a table of contents that I did not think was very creative or strong. It was different from the ordinary in the way that it was a black page with white and orange lettering, but it was boring because of the large block of text. The different chapters are hard to differentiate between because there is not enough letting between lines. The page is not broken up by any pictures at all, which is fine because a lot of books do not use images on there table of context pages, but the part that bothers me the most is that there is no white space to give your eyes a rest.

In the second image, a two-page spread of a table of contents is shown. The bottom half of the page is definitely based on a modular grid system with each image taking up one section of the grid. The text is small and surrounded by white space, but the viewer can see that it is also based on the grid system. I enjoy this table of contents because it is colorful and not suffocating with text. The small amount of information makes me actually want to read it and go to the specific pages.

Author: KassidyKievit

I am a senior at SUNY Oneonta majoring in Computer Art. I hope to work for a creative agency in the future.

Leave a Reply

