Identifying Fonts

macys

I was walking through the mall over the summer and I recognized how much I liked how simple the Macy’s logo was. Although I didn’t take these photos, I still wanted to look into what font was used to create the cute little a in the Macy’s logo. When I entered the simple photo into What the Font generator, a lot of suggestions came up.

I had to really study these results because they are all very similar. I inspected the “y,” the most because in the logo, the y has a short descender with a connecting shape that looks identical to a “v.” The “a” has a completely round bowl that reminded me of the typeface futura. The “s” was also unique with a smaller counter on the top than on the bottom. After identifying all of the major indicators of this logo,I used What the Font identifier and I found that this font looks like it is most likely Hurme Geometric Sans 3 Thin.

macys-storefront

Typeface Identificationonecolor.jpg

Author: KassidyKievit

I am a senior at SUNY Oneonta majoring in Computer Art. I hope to work for a creative agency in the future.

Leave a Reply

